Zambia: an advantageous investment destination

The Republic of Zambia is a landlocked country in Southern Africa, neighbouring the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzania to the north-east, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west. The capital city is Lusaka, in the south-central part of Zambia. The population is concentrated mainly around Lusaka in the south and the Copperbelt Province to the northwest, the core economic hubs of the country.

On 24 October 1964, Zambia became independent of the United Kingdom and Prime Minister Kenneth Kaunda became the inaugural president.

In 2010, the World Bank named Zambia one of the world’s fastest economically reformed countries. The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is headquartered in Lusaka.

Some facts about Zambia

Total area 752,618 sq km
Water 9,220 sq km
Land 743,398 sq km
Population 16,212,000 (2015 est.) | 13,092,666 (2010 census
GDP (nominal) $74.014 billion (2016 estimate)
GDP per capita (nominal) $4,616
Currency Zambian kwacha (ZMW)
Time zone CAT (UTC+2)
International dialing code +260

Map of Zambia

Zambia is divided into 10 provinces. It is bordered by seven countries, namely Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi, Tanzania, Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola and Namibia.


Extracting value from tier one assets by improving efficiencies and operations.